Search
FM Scout is the only community you can talk Football Manager in real time. Here are 10 reasons to join!

Opinions on press conferences wanted.

950 views
fuddledfoxFM's avatar Group fuddledfoxFM 2018-06-20 09:24
00 1 posts joined Apr 03, 2017
Hi guys.

I work as a moderator and writer over on FM Scouts sister site FMMVibe and I was hoping to get some opinions from you all on press conferences in the PC game that I could use for an article I am writing of ideas for Football Manager Mobile 2019.

If anyone had time to answer these three questions for me that would be much appreciated.


1.Do you do press conferences or do you leave them to your assman?
2. Do you feel that your approach to press conferences has any impact on your teams performance on the pitch?
3. Would you be bothered if press conferences were removed from FM completely.

Thanks in advance.
Justice's avatar Group Justice 2018-06-20 19:10
00 5604 posts 703 likes joined Feb 11, 2013
1. Most of the time. As I rarely have time to play FM, I tend to skip press conferences for relatively meaningless games.

2. Somewhat, perhaps. I feel that it can have an effect on squad morale, as you can see that some answers may cause a positive/negative response from players in their status conditions. Although implementing accurate human behaviour can be a challenge, so it understandably unnoticeable most of the time.

3. Yes. I feel that, while they are a nuisance at times, it would take away from the realism. Aside from José Mourinho, I cannot think of too many managers who actually enjoy having press conferences. They must (surely) see them as a nuisance too!
Louis O.'s avatar Group Louis O. 2018-06-20 21:29
gb 3247 posts 460 likes joined Oct 05, 2012
1.Do you do press conferences or do you leave them to your assman?

Do them every time, even the small games. I don't do the press conferences for minor signings though.


2. Do you feel that your approach to press conferences has any impact on your teams performance on the pitch?

It can do. Earlier I played a game against a manager facing the sack and used the press conference to criticise him and put him under pressure. Beat him fairly comfortably and he got sacked afterwards.

3. Would you be bothered if press conferences were removed from FM completely.

Yes, it would affect the realism quite significantly, even if you think they're a nuisance it's still best to have them.
#SantaBanta
Snorks's avatar Group Snorks 2018-06-29 10:18
00 29 posts 2 likes joined Dec 27, 2013
2018-06-20 09:24#249851 fuddledfoxFM : Hi guys.



1.Do you do press conferences or do you leave them to your assman?
Yes, I do most of them

2. Do you feel that your approach to press conferences has any impact on your teams performance on the pitch?
Yes, especially the pre-match ones can have an impact on morale

3. Would you be bothered if press conferences were removed from FM completely.
Wouldn't particularly miss them to be honest


Lennac's avatar Group Lennac 2018-07-13 13:11
00 56 posts 3 likes joined Feb 09, 2012
Late to answer, but I still would like to share my two cents here:

1.Do you do press conferences or do you leave them to your assman?

Honestly, depends on my personal mood and what the first question is. Sometimes when it's post-match and I'm frustrated, I'll send the assistant. When it's regarding transfer news or a specific player, I like to handle those myself because I'm worried about my assistant giving the wrong answer and unsettling someone at the club.

2. Do you feel that your approach to press conferences has any impact on your teams performance on the pitch?

Not sure about on the pitch. If so, it isn't noticeable. They seem to have a small impact on general happiness at the club regarding transfers and playing time mostly.

3. Would you be bothered if press conferences were removed from FM completely.

Yes, they're a nuisance at times and can be repetitive. But I don't want SI to be in the business of removing features. They should focused on improving and adding additional ones. Press conferences are a realistic component of being a football manager, so they belong in the game. And I know it's hard to write an ever-evolving bank of questions and press conference scenarios, but ideally, I'd like it to be improved upon a little.

You are reading "Opinions on press conferences wanted.".

FMS Chat

Stam
hey, just wanted to let you know that we have a fb style chat for our members. login or sign up to start chatting.